East Asia Student

Random Stuff Related to East Asia

Mandarin

Hutong School webinar: "What's in a Chinese name?"'

Hutong School are running a webinar titled “What’s in a Chinese name?” on 23rd October  2012.

## Webinar - What's in a Chinese name? ### Content: - Structure, origin and transliteration of Chinese names - Typology of family names - Meaning of first names - English names for Chinese - Chinese names for foreigners ### When: Tuesday October 23rd, 12am CEST (Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands) 6pm CST/AWST (China, West-Australia) 9pm AEDT (East-Australia) *Duration:* 1 hour: online presentation + Q&A *Software:* There is no special software required for the webinar, only a web browser and headset. *Registration:* Please register before October 22nd. Reserve your spot quickly – Limited to 100 participants. Participation is free.

[Register here!](http://www.hutong-school.com/webinar-whats-chinese-name)

### About the organizing entity: Hutong School Hutong School was founded in 2005 in order to provide Western students, graduates and young professionals internships and Chinese language courses in China. It is the only fully licensed Chinese language school under European management and is the school of choice for anyone who wants to study Chinese or find an internship in China. For more information visit: http://www.hutong-school.com ### About the lecturer: Mr. Jan Wostyn Mr. Jan Wostyn, Sinologist and Economist, Vlerick MBA Alumni and co-founder and Director of International Relations of Hutong School, has over 10 years of China experience, studying and working in Wuhan, Xiamen, Beijing and Shanghai, where he won the first prize in the Shanghai City Chinese speech contest for foreigners in 2005.

Get in contact with Hutong School if you have any questions!

Tags